Then and now.

Below is a post I wrote a few weeks ago.

Wednesday 23rd March 2016

Album- Cage the Elephant “Tell me I’m pretty”

I feel a little overwhelmed this week and it’s only wednesday. This is my last week in a job that I have been working in for three and a half years. It is such a strange feeling, it’s not that I’m sad to leave it is more that I’m apprehensive about leaving the comfort of a job that I know I’m good at. I’m heading to a new job in a few weeks and it’s something completely new to me, I’m going to be the “new girl” again, the one that doesn’t know how to do anything and makes a complete mess of the simplest of tasks. I am so nervous, clearly, but I’m also really excited as well. There are no opportunities available where I am now to progress further and if truth be told I’m bored here, I’ve gone as far as i possibly can. It’s time for the unknown, I’m choosing to look at this change of circumstance as an adventure. I’ll hate it for a while because it will be difficult and I will be frustrated at my own inability to do anything but I seriously need to stir up my life, I’m bored, complacent and demotivated. New start, new me and all that bant.

I completely forgot that I wrote the above post and only found it today which is interesting because I am currently on day two of my new job and I absolutely love it. The people are so nice, the management actually care about you and I am never bored. A little background on where I have begun my new job, so I work in a cafe in the airport at arrivals. It can get busy at times but I strive when working under pressure. The best part of where I am right now is seeing family and friends reuniting, for some reason it makes me so emotional. I actually nearly cried when I saw an elderly man run to the arms of his daughter who lives in France, I literally stopped my supervisor training me so that I could fully experience what was happening in front of me, apologised to him for interrupting and then proceeded to choke back tears while he explained the log in book to me. I think I get so attached to these scenes because I have so many people that I care about in other countries, one of my best friends has been in New Zealand for about 6 months now, I miss her a lot and seeing these people reuniting just makes me excited to see her again.

There has also been some strange developments with Simon, more to follow soon.

2 thoughts on “Then and now.

  1. I am overwhelmed. Bidding farewell is the hardest part of life. Parting is agony.The way you describe the incident is touching.
    You are highly talented.
    Make use of your writing skill to the best.
    Thanks for the follow of Meenas Poems.
    Wish you the best in life.

    Like

Leave a comment